About Takaakira 'Taka' Goto

Takaakira 'Taka' Goto

Photo by Mitja Kobal

Official Website Facebook Twitter Instagram Tumblr Soundcloud Spotify YouTube

Takaakira ‘Taka’​ Goto is best known as Tokyo-based Instrumental Rock band MONO’s leader,​ composer and guitarist.

Formed in Tokyo in 1999, MONO has now been active for 20 years. The band has a reputation as Asia’s most successful international touring band, and the offers are endless. Each year, the band travels around the world; from North America, South America, Europe, Asia to Oceania, playing around 150 shows a year, touring half of the year, every year. Recently, the band successfully performed on one of the Spanish Canary Islands, Gran Canaria, the first Japanese band to do so. Up to this point, the band has visited 59 countries.

It is common for Japnese artists to struggle at a local level, let alone make it overseas. Through sheer willpower and dedication, MONO has triumphed. Instead of utilizing their home country’s marketing systems and connections, the band has let their abilities lead and have succeeded. MONO are well respected in Japan, as a treasure within the independent music world.

Fans of MONO often say “Their songs are beautiful beyond words, but yet aggressive”, “Their performance is a life-changing experience”, and “MONO is one of the best live bands in the world”. Music Magazine NME also praised MONO as “This is God’s music”.

Since their formation in 1999, the band has released a total of 11 albums, including 1 live CD/DVD album with Wordless Music Orchestra from NYC in 2009. The works of MONO are highly regarded throughout the world, and MONO themselves are praised as one of the world’s top artists by many major music and review websites.

In 2015, Taka released his first solo album “Classical Punk and Echoes Under the Beauty”, under his own name, Takaakira ‘Taka’​ ​Goto. The album held old unrevealed recordings of Taka​, ​and was released via Pelagic Records worldwide and Magniph in Japan.

In 2016, Taka started a new solo project “Behind the Shadow Drops”,​ ​in order to create more original soundtrack music as a composer. With Behind the Shadow Drops,​ ​Taka incorporates more electronic elements into his compositions.

Behind the Shadow Drops’​ ​debut album was released via Temporary Residence Ltd​.​ worldwide in 2017.

Endorsed by

Artist History


MONO - Hey, You (2000, EP)
MONO - Under The Pipal Tree (2001)
MONO - One Step More And You Die (2002)
MONO - New York Soundtracks (2004/Remix Full-length)
MONO - Walking Cloud And Deep Red Sky, Flag Fluttered And The Sun Shined (2004)
MONO - Memorie Dal Futuro (2006/EP)
MONO - Pelican / MONO (2006/Split)
MONO & World’s End Girlfriend - Palmless Prayer / Mass Murder Refrain (2006)
MONO - You Are There (2006)
MONO - The Sky Remains The Same As Ever (2007/DVD)
MONO - The Phoenix Tree (2007/EP)
MONO - Gone: A Collection of EPs 2000-2007 (2007/Compilation)
MONO - Hymn To The Immortal Wind (2009)
MONO - Holy Ground: NYC Live With The Wordless Music Orchestra (2010/Live CD+DVD)
MONO - For My Parents (2012)
MONO - Kanata (2013/Single)
MONO - The Last Dawn/Rays of Darkness (2014)
MONO - Trascendental (2015/EP)
Takaakira 'Taka' Goto - Classical Punk and Echoes Under the Beauty (2015)
Takaakira 'Taka' Goto - Good Night (2016/Single)
MONO - Requiem For Hell (2016)
MONO - Live In Melbourne (2017/Live)
Takaakira 'Taka' Goto - Sukiyaki - Inori (2017/Single)
Behind the Shadow Drops - H a r m o n i c (2017)
MONO - Nowhere Now Here (2019)


"Snow Angels" 2007 United States: Feature Film (Director: David Gordon Green)
"All God’s Children Can Dance" 2008 United States: Feature Film (Writer: Haruki Murakami, Director: Robert Logevall)
"Kanata No Ko" 2013 Japan: WOWOW Original TV Drama (Director: Tatsushi Omori)
"Wildlike" 2014 Canada: Short Film (Writer & Director: Frank Hall Green)
"Where We Begin" 2015 Japan: Short Film (Writer & Director: Mitsuyo Miyazaki)
"Real Onigokko" 2015 Japan: Feature Film (Director: Sion Sono)
"Ray Donovan: Ep 406" 2016 United States: Showtime Original TV Series (Creator: Ann Bidermann)
"The 4th Company" 2016 Mexico: Feature Film (Director: Mitzi Vanessa Arreola, Amir Galván Carvera)

Behind the Shadow Drops:
"The Story of the Kingdoms of the Moon and of the Sun" 2016 France/Japan/England: Global Website (Creator: Pierre Hermé & Nicolas Buffe)


2015 "Idyllwild International Film Festival: Marshall Hawkins Best Musical Score" (Short Film: Where We Begin)

Behind the Shadow Drops:
2016 "Epica Awards: Online Campaigns - Luxury Silver" (Global Website: Pierre Hermé x Nicolas Buffe "The Story of the Kingdoms of the Moon and the Sun")

Awards Nomination

2017 "Ariel Award for Best Original Music Score" (Feature Film: The 4th Company)


Sukiyaki - Inori
2017, Single

Good Night
2015, Single

Classical Punk and Echoes Under the Beauty
2015, Full-length