MONO February 2018


Takaakira 'Taka' Goto - Guitar
Tamaki - Bass, Piano
Yoda - Guitar

Official Website Facebook Twitter Instagram Tumblr Soundcloud Spotify YouTube

MONO Official Documentary

The Tokyo, Japan based 4-piece Instrumental Rock band MONO was originally formed in 1999. Their unique approach of blending orchestral arrangements and shoegaze guitar noise in their music has been held in extremely high regard; so much so, that the band’s musicianship can no longer be sustained by Rock music alone and was praised by British Musical Magazine NME as "This is music for the Gods". One of the most monumental live memories of the band was a special set of shows with a 23-piece orchestra in New York, Tokyo, London and Melbourne.

Their annual world tour consists of around 150 shows. The band has now visited over 55 countries and proudly holds the title of being one of the most internationally successful bands in Japan. Among Rock music critics and fans, they are revered as one of the best live bands in Rock.

After releasing 10 successful albums including a live album with an orchestra in New York, the band received the highly regarded award "The Marshall Hawkins Awards: Best Musical Score - Featurette" from the Idyllwild International Festival of Cinema for their collaborative short film "Where We Begin" in 2015.

In 2016, the band recorded their 9th album "Requiem For Hell" with Steve Albini at Electrical Audio, Chicago which was released worldwide on Oct 14, 2016.

In June 2018, the band will headline alongside such bands as My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails, Mogwai and Deftones at London's Meltdown Festival, curated by Robert Smith of The Cure.


Under The Pipal Tree New
2017, Full-length (Remastered Edition)

Requiem For Hell New
2016, Full-length

The Last Dawn
2014, Full-length

Rays of Darkness
2014, Full-length

For My Parents
2012, Full-length

Holy Ground: NYC Live with the Wordless Music Orchestra
2010, Live Album & DVD

Hymn To The Immortal Wind
2009, Full-length

You Are There
2006, Full-length

Walking Cloud and Deep Red Sky, Flag Fluttered and the Sun Shined
2004, Full-length

One Step More And You Die
2002, Full-length

Under The Pipal Tree
2001, Full-length


The 4th Company

The 4th Company (2016)

Country: Mexico
Type: Feature Film
Directors: Mitzi Vanessa Arreola, Amir Galván Carvera

View on IMDB
Ray Donovan

Ray Donovan: Ep 406 (2016)

Country: United States
Type: Showtime Original TV Series
Creator: Ann Biderman

View on IMDB
Real Onigokko

Real Onigokko (2015)

Country: Japan
Type: Feature Film
Director: Sion Sono

View on IMDB
Where We Begin

Where We Begin (2015)

Country: Japan
Type: Short Film
Writer & Director: Mitsuyo Miyazaki

View on IMDB

Wildlike (2014)

Country: Canada
Type: Short Film
Writer & Director: Frank Hall Green

View on IMDB
Kanata No Ko

Kanata No Ko (2013)

Country: Japan
Type: WOWOW Origianl TV Drama
Director: Tatsushi Omori

View on IMDB
All God's Children Can Dance

All God's Children Can Dance (2008)

Country: United States
Type: Feature Film
Writer: Haruki Murakami
Director: Robert Logevall

View on IMDB
Snow Angels

Snow Angels (2007)

Country: United States
Type: Feature Film
Director: David Gordon Green

View on IMDB

Marshall Hawkins Best Musical Score

In 2016, MONO has received an honourable award called “Marshall Hawkins Best Musical Score” for collaborative film “Where We Begin”.

The film was a collaborative piece with America based Japanese writer, director and producer Mitsuyo Miyazaki and was later released to many film festivals throguhout the world 2015 onwards. As of mid 2016, the film has received over 7 awards including the mentioned award above.

Marshall Hawkins Best Musical Score